top of page

Track 2017

With wrestling now over, the fourth sports season has begun, track and field. With over 100 students participating, the program has plenty of people for each event. The field events include high jump, long jump, discus, and shotput. The track events include hurdles, the 100-meter dash, three different relays, and the 400-meter dash, among others.

Jasmine Garza, a seventh grader in track said that she is most excited for “the 100 meter race.” She also said that she likes “the 4 by 1 relay because it’s not too hard but it’s also really fun to do.”

Another student, Severin Kavanah, said the meet, “was really good, exciting, and fun. BTMS won seventh grade girls and boys, and eighth grade girls. I enjoyed the 800 meter the most even though it is hard, because I am pretty good at it and it really pushed me. I least enjoyed the 4x2 relay, because I had to pass the baton and had pressure of being on a team. I am most excited for the next meet’s 800, because I can hopefully do better.”

"When we got to Jackson High School, it seemed like everything was changed from what the schedule should be. Suddenly all the field events were running at the same time. There was a problem at shot put, and I feel like I didn't do my best, but somehow ended up placing! Then I had to run to discus, which wasn't far, but was still kinda stressful because this was my first meet, and it was confusing. And it may have been a good thing that the first and second flights were at the same time--the meet started 3;45, and boys high jump was still going on at around 6. As far as I know, the boys had been there since 3;45," says Irene Gituma, another seventh grader in track.

The next meets are on Wednesday, April 26th, against Harbour Pointe and Wednesday, May 3rd, against College Place. They are both home meets.

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Follow Us
No tags yet.
Search By Tags
Archive
  • Google+ Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Facebook Basic Square
bottom of page